The Burns Memorial Art Exhibition

This year we are celebrating 50 years of the Burns Memorial art exhibition. Every year school students from around the Waitaki share their artistic talents with us.

Forrester Gallery
12 September 2020 to 18 October 2020
Little Blue Penguin

Kia ora koutou,

Ōamaru Public Library
17 September 2020 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm

"Excellent assistance, I found exactly what I wanted. Many thanks."
-Stephen (Archive visitor book)

"Extremely well put together exhibit and beautiful building"
- Elaine, NZ (Forrester visitor book)

Louise Rayner and Jane Edwards

As I opened the gallery this morning, I was met by a woman waiting to meet her friend. I was to find out soon she was Louise Rayner from Waimate and her friend was Jane Edwards from Dunedin.

Riveting Read: Spin the Dawn

Instantly captivates and keeps you hooked

Perfect for fans of Renee Ahdieh and Holly Black

Her current read is ‘Spin the Dawn’ by Elizabeth Lim

"A wonderful selection of inspiring art!"
- Carol, UK (Forrester visitor book)

Vigilance Committee Minutes. Collection of Waitaki Archive 28110

The recent pandemic lockdown has been a challenging event for all of us.

Collections Online

Explore our Collection The collection includes photographs, artworks, architectural drawings, natural history specimens, social history items and more.

Apothecary jar, WMA 78_1892

Work is underway at Waitaki Museum on refitting the permanent exhibition area. The Museum has over 30,000 items in its care. Each item has its own story.

"There are many moments in the day when I wish time could stand still and I could take the girls out of school and just hang out, with daily visits to the library"
Jan (email comment)

Image: 'The Stormcloud - Bushey Beach', Amos Glass, collection of the Forrester Gallery FG1992.5.1

The works in this small exhibition inside the old bank vault are all from the Forrester Gallery collection and all depict the sea near Ōamaru – by the harbour, or just south at Bushey Beach and Cap

13 June 2020 to 18 October 2020
Epitaph biography

Epitaph is a series of biographical sketches produced by the North Otago Museum and Archive to commemorate local identities.