Culture Waitaki Blog

The collaborative blog of Culture Waitaki, featuring thoughts and ideas from the Forrester Gallery, North Otago Museum, Waitaki District Libraries and Waitaki District Archive.

  • Five minutes with Art: T F Gallagher, Old Totara Tree – historic landmark, Oamaru 1948. NOM88/418.

    T F Gallagher, Old Totara Tree – historic landmark, Oamaru 1948. NOM88/418.

    During the Covid-19 lockdown I am doing 3 checks per week on the building and collection stores at the Museum & Archive and at the Forrester Gallery. I am checking security, pest and climate controls.

  • Close up of Stanley Caldwell from Waitaki Archive 6342P

    The influenza pandemic of 1918 killed 9000 people in New Zealand. At least 83 of those deaths were in what is now the Waitaki District. Around the country thousands of children lost a parent to the disease. Some regions were hit harder than others. Locally Hampden was especially badly affected.

  • Marcel Proust, Literary Poster Great Writers Series

    Apart Together: Postcards from the Island

  • Arrangement of diatoms from flip book design

    We are still working hard on the new permanent display upgrade, but the reopening is now postponed until further notice.

  • Riveting Read: The Blacksmith Queen

    A funny and quirky first installment in a brand new series

    Perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Sarah J Maas

    Her current read is ‘The Blacksmith Queen’ by G. A. Aiken

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • We are closed until further notice

    The Culture Waitaki facilities are closed to the public until further notice. Culture Waitaki is the collaborative home for Forrester Gallery, Oamaru Opera House, North Otago Museum, Waitaki District Archive and Waitaki District Libraries.

  • Top Ten New Releases

    Magic, mystery and more! Check out some of our new releases this month!

  • Top Ten: Retellings

    Enjoy these twists on fairy tales, folklore and literature

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • An Expansive Appoach to Readers' Advisory in Libraries

    Two of our Oamaru Librarians, Maclean Barker, Large Print and Audio-visual Services Co-ordinator and Jean Rivett, Fiction Selector and Branches' Co-coordinator, recently ran a workshop that looked at how we, as library professionals, help our readers discover new reading material.

  • Riveting Read: Little White Lies

    A thrilling page turner that keeps you guessing

    Perfect for fans of Sara Shepard and Rachel Hawkins

    Her current read is ‘Little White Lies’ by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Image credit: Oamaru Baptist Church, Severn Street, Collection of the Waitaki District Archive. Id 101881

    The Ōamaru Baptist Church, Severn Street was built in 1889 as a permanent place of worship for the Ōamaru Baptist congregation. Mr Gideon Rutherford generously donated the land at section 4, block 25, Ōamaru Town along with a contribution towards the construction of the Church.

  • If You Like Fantasy/Science Fiction Why Not Try

    Love Fantasy/Science Fiction? Check out our list of brand new books available in the Rental Fiction section at the Ōamaru Library

  • Top Ten: Fictional Libraries

    Join us in celebrating our love for libraries by checking out our list of top ten fictional libraries!

  • What Staff are Reading

    Ever wondered what the staff at the Oamaru Library is reading? Well here's your chance! Check out our list below for all the goodies the staff are reading this month

  • Riveting Read: Kill the Queen

    A female centric action fueled fantasy

    Perfect for fans of Anne Bishop and Victoria Aveyard

    Her current read is ‘Kill the Queen’ by Jennifer Estep

    This instalment of Riveting Reads come to you from Assistant Youth Librarian Kerrie Gamble.

  • Rat with diatoms

    This year, 2020, the Chinese New Year is on Saturday, January 25. The date shifts each year because it depends on the lunar calendar. 2020 is the year of the rat. The rat is the first animal in the cycle of twelve. Next year, 2021, will be the year of the ox.

  • If You Like Thrillers Why Not Try

    Love thrillers? Why not try one of these brand new books to the Oamaru Library

  • Top Ten: Children's Issues & Concerns Books

    Check out our Top Ten list of books on a wide range of children's issues and concerns.

  • Pages from lace sample book, North Otago Museum 2012/95

    Work is underway at North Otago Museum on refitting the permanent exhibition area. The Museum has over 30,000 items in its care. Each item has its own story.

Pages